Getting Older

I was thinking about my childhood and how we had one of these in the house.  It was only 25-30 years ago, but my where does the time fly?  I remember the days before people got pissy because I don’t answer the phone while taking a shit or text them back within whatever they feel is a proper amount of time to respond.  I remember being able to be lost to the world for hours at a time and feeling safe and secure in my own abilities WITHOUT the all knowing Google or Wikipedia telling me what I needed to know or do.  I remember having a predesignated time to be home and not being hounded relentlessly with texts from a helicopter mom with nothing better to do than fret over her genetic gift to the world.  Technology has done wonders for us, but it has also permanently destroyed some of the simplest wonders we’ve ever had.

Have something to say?

